It’s Monday again. I swear we just had one of these last week. I’m not sure it’s a good idea to have so many of these! Once a week seems rather excessive to me. Monday is one of my favorite days of the week and my least favorite. On one hand, everyone goes back to work and school. Yay! On the other hand, it’s back to the daily grind – getting kids up, fed, to school, then from school…homework done, dinner, Scouts…Bitter with the sweet, right? I’m not usually motivated to do much on a Monday, other than recover from all the family togetherness of the weekend. I love my family dearly, I do, but I also need my space. Introverts are like that. So. Motivation. Let’s find some. I’m going to toss out some writing prompts and reading suggestions with the hope that something will spark that ever-elusive motivation.

Writing Prompts

Use the following three words in a scene, any genre, any setting: whale(s), butter, cocktail(s)

Use this as your scene opening: The forest sounded like it was snoring, but…

Pick your favorite scene from the last movie you watched (doesn’t have to be a movie just released in theater – it can be any movie you just watched) or your favorite movie, and rewrite it as a different genre, time setting…change something fundamental about it to turn it into an entirely new idea.

Reading Suggestions

Please pardon my shameless self-promotion. This is one of my favorites…yes, in a gallery of favorites. I love all the characters and stories I write for different reasons, but I always manage to fall in love with some aspect of each story. This one I love because I was motivated (Hey! There’s that word!) to write it because I watched Sharknado and Sharknado 2: The Second One with a friend (Okay, we are in two different states, but we both watched our DVR’d or purchased copy at the same time and private messaged on Facebook throughout. We now have fun watching other movies together that way, which is another reason I love this novella – it led to something fun!). I messaged my friend, “I want to write a disaster-themed romance. Something ridiculous.” She said, “I’ll help you name your characters.” When Angie Went to Hale took two days to write. It’s meant to be a silly bit of fun, entertaining and easy to read.

It’s your typical mid-week day here on Planet Earth when the aliens arrive. There’s nothing remarkable, nothing out of the ordinary, that would presage the arrival of the alien UFOs that park over all the big cities of the world, including, of course, New York City. Everyone knows that when the aliens arrive, they’ll head to Manhattan. It’s probably a law. And predictably, the aliens turn out to be evil invaders, intent on the Earth’s destruction. Because, are there any other kind of aliens?

Meet Angie Gibson, our plucky heroine who harbors a guilty a love for alien invasion and/or disaster movies. The sillier the movie, the better. She conveniently finds her best friend, Lacey Bevins, as they flee the Manhattan office building where they work, and together, they join forces with Hale and Nelson when Angie inconveniently breaks her ankle during the stampeding exodus from Lower Manhattan. Together the foursome, against all logic, flee Lower Manhattan for Upper Manhattan, hiding in odd places, rescue some abandoned children, and race towards their salvation, the George Washington Bridge. Oh. And they fight some aliens. Oh, oh! And have desperate sex, because who wouldn’t when the world is being destroyed by evil, invading aliens and you don’t know if you’ll live to see tomorrow?

Join Angie, Hale, Lacey and Nelson for a silly adventure that couldn’t possibly happen in real life.

Right?

I mean, this really couldn’t happen in real life.

PURCHASE LINK

***

Grounds to Kill by Wendy Roberts

Barista Jen Hamby’s coworkers give her a hard time for bringing coffee and pastries to a homeless man who sits outside her café–but she has a secret. The scruffy man is her father.
She’s also hiding the little matter of why her palm itches. But how can she explain that her hand has a mind of its own and writes messages from the beyond? Right. That’ll get her Employee of the Month.
When she finds herself scrawling your boyfriend is cheating on you! to herself on the bathroom mirror, she immediately dumps the guy. But then his little fling–who just happens to be her half sister–turns up dead, and suddenly Jen’s homeless father is the prime suspect.

Jen knows he is being framed and must take matters into her own hands to protect him. But will anyone believe that the crazy old man is innocent? Or that his spirit-writing daughter holds the truth?

PURCHASE LINK

***

Broken (The Sentinels) by Meg Allison

Even the strongest spirits can break.

Weary of his solitary life, Gabriel Bonét sets out one night in search of peace. Instead he finds a reason to live. When he rescues Beth Murphy and heals her wounds, he unlocks the mental gateway she’s erected to stifle her strong empathic abilities. Her gift puts her on the same wavelength as a brutal killer who stalks their quiet mountain town.

Being thrown into the arms of the sexiest man in town, Beth believes her lifetime of bad luck is about to change. But she gets much more than she bargained for: The man she’s been lusting after is a man with secrets. Will she be able to accept the unbelievable before it’s too late?

*Warning: This title contains an unlucky heroine; a hero with a failed God-complex; murder; mayhem; and plenty of sultry lovin’.

PURCHASE LINK

*****

Other Motivation

10 Minute Tidying Spurts: I try to get up and move several times while I’m writing, so I don’t stiffen up and have to walk bent like I’m still sitting. Heh. With a family of 5, a dog, outdoor animals, a cat, 3 kids…well, we get pretty sketchy looking pretty quick. I try to do 10 minute tidying spurts at least once an hour while I’m writing. Clear and wipe down kitchen counters. Sweep the kitchen, family room and dining room. Start a load of laundry/move the laundry from washer to dryer/folding. Round up all the stray pens and pencils left on odd surfaces. Dust one room. Tidy the family room end tables. Empty and/or reload the dishwasher. General decluttering, one room at a time. Mop or vacuum one room. Organize a messy pile of books. All in 10 minute spurts. Gets the job done!

Writer’s Block? Sometimes, I just need to walk away from the WIP for a spell. I love to do crafts, too, so I’m still doing something creative and giving my mind a bit of a rest. It’s also a good time to think about the WIP. Here’s a few of my projects.

******

Last thought for Monday Motivation:

imagine-believe-achive-motivational-quotes

Leave a Reply

