Awesome post by my friend, Valerie Parv. My word for 2015 is JOY. Only JOY is allowed in my life this year – I’m banishing JOY’s evil twin. JOY.

valerieparv

It’s the first Monday of January on this blog, when you can ask questions and discuss any aspect of writing that concerns you.
It’s also when many of us make – and sadly, quickly break – our resolutions for the New Year. We aim to be slimmer, fitter and more active; give up bad habits, and be more productive.

These resolutions are soon broken, not because they are unworthy goals, but because they aim for perfection, not a natural place for humans to be.

We can still work toward these goals, but they probably should be built into everyday life, rather than pressuring us at such a sociable time. For myself, I started eating more sensibly about five months ago, and am already reaping the benefits. Had I started during the most indulgent season of the year, I’d have far less chance of making the changes stick.

The one-word approach

View original post 547 more words

2 thoughts on “First Monday Mentoring for January – writers, what is your special word for 2015?

Leave a Reply

